Thursday, September 22, 2005

Roberts Gets Past Judiciary Committee 13-5

The Senate Judiciary Committee voted this afternoon to send the Chief-Justice nomination of John Roberts Jr. to the full Senate and recommended that he be confirmed. The vote was 13-5, with all ten Republicans and three Democrats effectively voting to confirm Roberts.

The three Democrats in need of a slapping are Leahy, Kohl, and Feingold – yes, the same Russ Feingold who voted to confirm John Ashcroft as Attorney General and the same one who appears to be wrangling for the 2008 Democratic presidential nomination.

I'll write more in the coming days about how wrong Feingold – along with Leahy and Kohl – are in their votes and will amplify my feeling that Feingold will get nowhere near the Democratic nomination in 2008 with this kind of equivocation.

Democratic Senators voting like Democrats today were Feinstein, Kennedy, Biden, Schumer, and Durbin.