Saturday, January 28, 2006

Alito Filibuster Status

Bob Fertik at has been all over the filibuster story for the last 48 hours. In fact, Bob broke the story of John Kerry’s leadership in the filibuster fight hours before CNN finally followed his lead. Here’s the latest from

We have 12 Democratic Senators confirmed to vote against cloture – the closing of all debate on a Senate issue – at 4:30 pm Monday. They are:
  • Barbara Boxer (D-CA)
  • Dianne Feinstein (D- CA)
  • Christopher J. Dodd (D-CT)
  • Richard J. Durbin (D-IL)
  • John F. Kerry (D-MA)
  • Edward M. Kennedy (D-MA)
  • Debbie A. Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Harry Reid (D-NV)
  • Hillary Rodham Clinton (D-NY)
  • Charles Schumer (D-NY)
  • Ron Wyden (D-OR)
  • Russell D. Feingold (D-WI)
“Based on a very long and thoughtful analysis of the record and transcript, which I tried to indicate in my floor statement yesterday, I’ve decided that I will vote no on cloture,” said Feinstein in a brief statement.

“We owe it to future generations of Americans to oppose this nomination,” said Ted Kennedy. “If Judge Alito is confirmed, he will serve on the court long after President Bush leaves office, and the progress of half a century on the basic rights of all Americans is likely to be rolled back. He's the wrong Justice for justice and the rule of law in America.”

Democrats need 41 votes to block Alito’s nomination and you can bet there’s major arm-twisting going on all over Washington this weekend.