Thursday, November 20, 2008

Senate Democratic Leadership Announced

Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid has announced the Senate Democratic Leadership for the 111th Congress.

Here's the Democratic Leadership for the 111th Congress:

Harry Reid (D-NV), Majority Leader

Senator Reid will continue in the position he held in the 110th Congress.

Robert Byrd (D-WV), President Pro Tempore

As President pro tempore, Senator Byrd will continue to provide the Democratic Caucus leadership and experience gained from a lifetime of public service.

Dick Durbin (D-IL), Assistant Majority Leader

As Assistant Majority Leader, Senator Durbin will continue to serve as the Majority Leader’s key aide on and off the floor, helping to lead the Democrats’ fight to protect America and help working families get ahead.

Chuck Schumer (D-NY), Vice Chair of the Conference

The third-ranking member of the Democratic leadership, Senator Schumer will continue to oversee strategy and policy to keep and build support for Democratic values.

Patty Murray (D-WA), Secretary of the Conference

As Secretary of the Conference, Senator Murray will continue to play a critical role in helping shape and set the Democratic agenda.

Byron L. Dorgan (D-ND), Chairman of Policy Committee

Senator Dorgan will continue to provide strong leadership at the Democratic Policy Committee (DPC). Under Senator Dorgan, the DPC has been credited with conducting aggressive Congressional oversight and generating innovative policy ideas for the Democratic Caucus.

Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Chair of Steering and Outreach Committee

Senator Stabenow will continue to serve as Chair of the Steering and Outreach Committee. In her role as chair, Senator Stabenow will engage Democratic Senators and community leaders across the country in an active dialogue about the pressing issues facing our nation.

Barbara Boxer (D-CA), Chief Deputy Whip

As Chief Deputy Whip, Senator Boxer will continue to be responsible for managing and implementing Caucus efforts on the Senator floor. Working alongside the Democratic Leader and Assistant Democratic Leader, Boxer plays an instrumental role in articulating, advancing and achieving the objectives of the Democratic Caucus.
  • Thomas R. Carper (D-DE), Deputy Whip
  • Bill Nelson (D-FL), Deputy Whip
  • Russell D. Feingold (D-WI), Deputy Whip
Serving as Deputy Whips, Senators Carper, Nelson and Feingold will play critical roles in marshalling the Caucus’s forces.