Monday, July 11, 2005

Let's Update The Senate Weasel Meter

On June 10, we introduced the Senate Weasel Meter as a way to keep track of Senate DINOs (Democrat In Name Only) who sometimes forget what party they belong to.

Remember, straight from

intr.v. wea·seled, also wea·selled wea·sel·ing, wea·sel·ling wea·sels, wea·sels

To be evasive; equivocate.

Phrasal Verb: weasel out (Informal). To back out of a situation or commitment in a sneaky or cowardly manner.
We've updated the Weasel Meter to show the top five Democratic Senators who have been voting badly in 2005 with some of their choices on the following major actions:
  • Yea vote in confirmation of Alberto R. Gonzales
  • Yea vote for the Bankruptcy Abuse Prevention and Consumer Protection Act of 2005
  • Nay vote on amendment to Appropriations resolution FY2006, to strike section 201(a)(4) relative to the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge.
  • Nay vote on bill to repeal the tax subsidy for certain domestic companies which move manufacturing operations and American jobs offshore.
  • Yea vote in confirmation of Priscilla Owen
  • Yea vote to end debate on John Bolton and deny Democrats information they had requested.
  • Yea vote in confirmation of Janice Rogers Brown.
  • Yea vote in confirmation of William H. Pryor, Jr
  • Voted against bill to improve the energy security of the United States and reduce U.S. dependence on foreign oil imports by 40 percent by 2025.
  • Voted again for cloture (to end debate) on John Bolton and deny Democrats information they requested.
Here's the updated list of our top Senatorial weasels, so far, in 2005, with the volume of weasels representing the number of bad votes:

Mary Landrieu (D-LA)

Ben Nelson (D-NE)

Mark Pryor (D-AR)

Bill Nelson (D-FL)

Ken Salazar (D-CO)

As always, you can get a synopsis of each of the weasel-worthy votes shown above here.

Let's keep an eye on these guys – especially the two Nelson boys, who are both up for reelection next year.