Tuesday, January 31, 2006

Democrats for Alito

By a vote of 72-25, the U.S. Senate yesterday voted to end debate (kill a filibuster) on Samuel Alito's nomination to replace retiring Supreme Court Justice Sandra Day O’Connor.

Here’s the list of Democrats who voted against the filibuster -- and with the Republican majority -- and virtually assured Alito’s confirmation today:
  • Daniel Akaka (D-HI)
  • Max Baucus (D-MT)
  • Jeff Bingaman (D-NM)
  • Robert Byrd (D-WV)
  • Maria Cantwell (D-WA)
  • Thomas Carper (D-DE)
  • Kent Conrad (D-ND)
  • Byron Dorgan (D-ND)
  • Daniel Inouye (D-HI)
  • Tim Johnson (D-SD)
  • Herb Kohl (D-WI)
  • Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
  • Joe Lieberman (D-CT)
  • Blanche Lincoln (D-AR)
  • Bill Nelson (D-FL)
  • Ben Nelson (D-NE)
  • Mark Pryor (D-AR)
  • John Rockefeller (D-WV)
  • Ken Salazar (D-CO)
Over half of these -- Akaka, Bingaman, Byrd, Cantwell, Carper, Conrad, Kohl, Lieberman, Nelson (Bill) and Nelson (Ben) – need to get elected again in November.

This was one of the biggest votes any of these people will ever make and they blew it. It’s time to make some hard decisions in those states.